Special Collections Online Exhibits

Founding Mothers: From the Ballot Box to the University


Founding Mothers: From the Ballot Box to the University online exhibition was curated by:

  • Patricia MacCorquodale, Dean Emerita, Honors College; Professor Emerita, Gender & Women's Studies
  • Erika Castaño, Assistant Librarian and Archivist, Special Collections, University of Arizona Libraries
  • Mary Feeney, Librarian for Gender & Women's Studies, History, Journalism, and Sociology, Research & Learning Department, University of Arizona Libraries

Many thanks to contributors and supporters of this exhibition:

  • Founding Mothers of UA Women's Studies for their insights, memories, photographs, and ideas: Susan Hardy Aiken, Ruth Dickstein, Myra Dinnerstein, Jan Monk, Susan U. Philips, Eliana Rivero, Sidonie Smith, Chris Tanz, Judy Nolte Temple and Women’s Studies/SIROW leaders, Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy, Sally Stevens, and Josephine Korchmaros.
  • Rowene Aguirre-Medina for the Mary Bernard Aguirre Professorship 2019-2020 which supported the research into the founding of Women’s Studies.
  • November Prentiss, President, and the Women’s Studies Advocacy Council (WOSAC) for a small grant that supported this research in 2018-2019.
  • Professor Jennifer Croissant, former Gender & Women Studies (GWS) Department Head; Professor Michelle Berry; Leigh Carducci Spencer, GWS Program Coordinator; and Darcy Roman-Felix, GWS Business Manager for support and advice.
  • The UA College of Social and Behavioral Sciences (SBS): Dean J.P. Jones and Monica Casper, former Associate Dean for Academic Affairs.
  • SBS Tech: David Rodriquez for video production of interviews and David Alan Fletcher for uploading historical videos.
  • Bob Nichol of Ping Pong Media for digitizing audio and video tapes.
  • Editing and comments on text: Professors Reid Goméz, Judy Temple, and E. Philip Krider.
  • From the University Libraries: Verónica Reyes-Escudero, Katheryne B. Willock Head of Special Collections; Kenya Johnson, Director, Marketing Communications and Events; Marty Taylor, Graphic Designer; Maggie Verebelyi, Events Coordinator; Aengus Anderson, Oral Historian/Digital Media Producer; Trent Purdy, Assistant Librarian and Archivist; Lori Strazza, Administrative Associate; Michelle Boyer-Kelly, Graduate Assistant, Special Collections; Jeff Henkle, Special Collections Student Assistant (Digital); Jeremy Thompson, Special Collections Student Assistant. 


Support women's studies teaching and research through the Ruth H. Dickstein Women’s Studies Library Endowment, which enhances and enriches women’s studies library resources. 

Celebrate the women in your life by donating to the Women's Plaza of Honor. Funds raised support graduate students in the Department of Gender & Women's Studies.

Credits: UA Libraries. Banner information: Women from left to right: (back row) Josephine Brawley Hughes, Estelle Lutrell, Madge Udall, Frances Willard Munds; (front row) Susan Philips, Myra Dinnerstein, Sidonie Smith, Jan Monk, Susan Aiken, Laurel Wilkening, Patricia MacCorquodale; and Eliana Rivero