University of Arizona

                                             Special Collections will be closed December 20, 2023 through January 1, 2024 in observance of the University Holiday break.

Papers of Edward Abbey

Edward Abbey was an author of novels, travel books, reviews and articles. His selected major novels include: The Brave Cowboy (1956), Fire on the Mountain (1962), Black Sun (1971), and The Monkey Wrench Gang (1975). The bulk of this collection best documents Abbey's writings and activities during the last two decades of his life, 1969 to 1989.

The collection contains biographical materials, correspondence, journals, notebooks, speeches, manuscripts, articles, audiotapes, videotapes, and supplemental materials documenting his life and career. Over half of the collection consists of drafts of his novels, essays, articles, and other works. There are no drafts for his earlier novels, Jonathan Troy, The Brave Cowboy and Fire on the Mountain, nor for Appalachian Wilderness or The Hidden Canyon.