University of Arizona

Special Collections is available by appointment. Read our update.

Political Cartoons

Nineteen artists are represented in the material, including including Jay N. "Ding" Darling of the Des Moines Register, Daniel R. Fitzpatrick of the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Reg Manning of the Phoenix Republic and Gazette, George T. Maxwell of the Wilmington Delaware Journal, and William H. Summers of the Cleveland News. In the collection are the original drawings of political cartoons, many relate to the New Deal, political parties, and national and world events. Some of the drawings are inscribed to the University of Arizona, Esther Payne, or William Frederic Stevens.