University of Arizona

Students, faculty, staff, and the public are now welcome to visit Special Collections without an appointment from 9 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.

Records of the Tucson Literary Club

The Tucson Literary Club was established Oct. 17, 1921 by Frank C. Lockwood, a professor of English and dean of the College of Liberal Arts at the University of Arizona; the club's membership included other University of Arizona faculty and professionals in Tucson, AZ.

The collection primarily contains typescripts of papers presented at monthly club meetings, which were held held October to May of each year. There are eight papers per season from 1939 to 1940 and 1955 to present; however not all are present. Presentations given by Laurence Muir in November of 1970 and Bernard Fontana in 1991 provide a history of the club. Other presenters include James B. McCormick, Eugene Steinheimer, Evo Deconcini, Douglas D. Martin, Richard Harvill, Arthur N. Pack, Lawrence Clark Powell, and John P. Schaefer. the collection also includes minutes of meetings, membership lists and correspondence. The club continues to count a membership of distinguished University faculty and staff as well as private citizens.