The Saturday Morning Musical Club was organized in 1907 by Madeline Dreyfus Heineman. It began with twelve women performing at each others' homes but soon grew to include performances by well-known artists. The Club incorporated in 1917, and in 1927 the Club built the Temple of Music and Art to showcase these performances. The Temple of Music and Art, Inc., a non-profit corporation, was established by the Club in 1925 and closed in 1961. The Club sold the building in 1972, but it continued as a non-profit organization.
This collection includes correspondence, reports, minutes of meetings, financial records, and programs of the various civic events and artists' series performances sponsored by the Saturday Morning Musical Club, as well as similar materials related to the Temple of Music and Art.